Loading stories...
← Back to Dashboard
No longer trackedID

Buckhorn Fire

Feed checked
Nov 8, 2026 02:20 UTC
Source record updated
Oct 21, 2026 18:04 UTC
Last recorded incident change
Oct 21, 2026 17:30 UTC

Feed checks and source-record updates do not necessarily mean fire conditions changed. Figures below reflect the last recorded incident report.

The last recorded incident change is more than 14 days old or undated. Historical fire behavior and summaries below are not confirmation of current conditions.

154
Acres
100%
Contained
18
Personnel

Situation Summary

Automated summary generated: Oct 21, 2026 18:25 UTC. It may lag behind the report and is not an official alert.

The Buckhorn wildfire, located 9 miles southeast of Featherville in Elmore County, Idaho, was first discovered on September 11, 2026. The fire, caused by human activity and managed by the U.S. Forest Service, grew to 161 acres by September 13 and reached 90% containment by September 18, with a final containment of 100% reported on September 20. Personnel peaked at 149 on September 13 and decreased to 18 by the final update, while estimated costs rose from $750,000 to $3,156,513. Fire behavior remained moderate to minimal, with group torching and running conditions noted throughout the timeline.

Official source description: 9 Miles SE from Featherville, ID

Fire Behavior in Last Recorded Report

Minimal; Group Torching; Running

Recorded Fire Progression

Historical observations from incident reports, not a live forecast. Acreage and containment can decrease when agencies correct their estimates.

Available reports

15

First recorded acreage

100 acres

Last recorded acreage

154 acres

Latest available source report: Oct 21, 2026 17:30 UTC. This is the report date, not confirmation of current fire conditions.

Reported acreage increased by 54 acres between the first and last available acreage measurements. Recorded containment rose by 100.0 percentage points, from 0.0% (Sep 12, 2026) to 100.0% (Oct 21, 2026), using the first and last reports with a known containment value.

Reported changes over time

Report date (UTC)AcresContainmentSource
Sep 11, 2026 20:20100Not reportedNIFC
Sep 12, 2026 00:00161Not reportedNIFC
Sep 12, 2026 01:001610.0%NIFC
Sep 14, 2026 01:0016115.0%NIFC
Sep 16, 2026 00:0016127.0%NIFC
Sep 17, 2026 00:2015746.0%NIFC
Sep 18, 2026 00:0015490.0%NIFC
Sep 18, 2026 13:2016190.0%NIFC
Sep 19, 2026 00:0015490.0%NIFC
Sep 19, 2026 13:4016190.0%NIFC
Sep 20, 2026 17:00161100.0%NIFC
Oct 21, 2026 17:30154100.0%NIFC

Showing 12 representative changes from 13 distinct recorded measurements, including the first and last distinct measurements. The latest source report date is shown above, even when measurements have not changed.

View all 15 source reports
Report date (UTC)AcresContainmentSource
Sep 11, 2026 20:20100Not reportedNIFC
Sep 12, 2026 00:00161Not reportedNIFC
Sep 12, 2026 01:001610.0%NIFC
Sep 13, 2026 00:401610.0%NIFC
Sep 14, 2026 01:0016115.0%NIFC
Sep 15, 2026 00:0016115.0%NIFC
Sep 16, 2026 00:0016127.0%NIFC
Sep 17, 2026 00:2015746.0%NIFC
Sep 17, 2026 18:2016146.0%NIFC
Sep 18, 2026 00:0015490.0%NIFC
Sep 18, 2026 13:2016190.0%NIFC
Sep 19, 2026 00:0015490.0%NIFC
Sep 19, 2026 13:4016190.0%NIFC
Sep 20, 2026 17:00161100.0%NIFC
Oct 21, 2026 17:30154100.0%NIFC

Location

Regional Air Quality

Current air quality readings are unavailable for this incident. Older readings are not shown as current conditions.

Check current air quality on AirNow.gov β†’

Public Safety & Travel

Any automated community or travel summary below may be outdated. It is not a live evacuation or road-closure notice.

Check Official Alerts

Verify evacuation orders, closures and access with the responsible fire agency, county emergency management or sheriff. A containment percentage, feed status or AQI reading does not establish that an area is safe to enter.

NIFC fire information and official resources β†’

IRWIN ID: {F62493AB-3191-4364-A6BC-48BC79F27D2F}

Discovered: Sep 11, 2026

Cause: Human

Managing Agency: USFS

Est. Cost to Date: $3,156,513

Coordinates: 43.5474, -115.105

Frequently Asked Questions

How many acres has the Buckhorn Fire burned?

The Buckhorn Fire has burned 154 acres as of October 21, 2026.

Is the Buckhorn Fire contained?

Yes, the Buckhorn Fire is fully contained (100%).

What caused the Buckhorn Fire?

The official cause has been listed as: Human.

Where is the Buckhorn Fire located?

The Buckhorn Fire is burning in Elmore, ID.

Is the Buckhorn Fire still active?

The Buckhorn Fire is no longer in our filtered incident feed. This alone does not confirm extinguishment.

πŸ”₯ Live Tracker

Watch Active Wildfires β€” Live

Real-time map, acreage, and containment for every major U.S. wildfire, updated from official NIFC data.

View Live Map →