Feed checks and source-record updates do not necessarily mean fire conditions changed. Figures below reflect the last recorded incident report.
The last recorded incident change is more than 14 days old or undated. Historical fire behavior and summaries below are not confirmation of current conditions.
Automated summary generated: Nov 5, 2026 19:25 UTC. It may lag behind the report and is not an official alert.
The Floriston wildfire was first discovered on 2026-09-16 at 17:00:56 and reported by NIFC at 18:40:02 the same day with an initial size of 20 acres. By 2026-09-18 the fire had expanded to 640 acres and was 8% contained, with 1,579 personnel engaged. Containment increased steadily, reaching 100% on 2026-09-25 while the acreage remained at 622 acres. The estimated cost rose from $2,716,062 on 2026-09-18 to $17,924,942 by the final report.
Official source description: 10 Miles NE from Truckee, CA
Minimal; Creeping; Isolated Torching
Historical observations from incident reports, not a live forecast. Acreage and containment can decrease when agencies correct their estimates.
11
20 acres
622 acres
Latest available source report: Sep 25, 2026 00:20 UTC. This is the report date, not confirmation of current fire conditions.
Reported acreage increased by 602 acres between the first and last available acreage measurements. Recorded containment rose by 96.0 percentage points, from 4.0% (Sep 17, 2026) to 100.0% (Sep 25, 2026), using the first and last reports with a known containment value.
| Report date (UTC) | Acres | Containment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 16, 2026 18:40 | 20 | Not reported | NIFC |
| Sep 16, 2026 19:20 | 297 | Not reported | NIFC |
| Sep 17, 2026 01:20 | 610 | 4.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 18, 2026 01:00 | 640 | 8.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 18, 2026 18:20 | 622 | 8.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 19, 2026 01:00 | 622 | 25.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 20, 2026 00:40 | 622 | 45.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 21, 2026 00:20 | 622 | 65.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 22, 2026 00:40 | 622 | 85.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 23, 2026 00:20 | 622 | 96.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 25, 2026 00:20 | 622 | 100.0% | NIFC |
| Report date (UTC) | Acres | Containment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 16, 2026 18:40 | 20 | Not reported | NIFC |
| Sep 16, 2026 19:20 | 297 | Not reported | NIFC |
| Sep 17, 2026 01:20 | 610 | 4.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 18, 2026 01:00 | 640 | 8.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 18, 2026 18:20 | 622 | 8.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 19, 2026 01:00 | 622 | 25.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 20, 2026 00:40 | 622 | 45.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 21, 2026 00:20 | 622 | 65.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 22, 2026 00:40 | 622 | 85.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 23, 2026 00:20 | 622 | 96.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 25, 2026 00:20 | 622 | 100.0% | NIFC |
Good air quality at the reporting station. AQI does not assess fire danger, road access or evacuation status.
Reporting area: Truckee. Source: AirNow.gov (EPA).
Observed: 2026-11-08 01:00:00 UTC Β· Site: Verdi.
Any automated community or travel summary below may be outdated. It is not a live evacuation or road-closure notice.
Verify evacuation orders, closures and access with the responsible fire agency, county emergency management or sheriff. A containment percentage, feed status or AQI reading does not establish that an area is safe to enter.
NIFC fire information and official resources βIRWIN ID: {80DC9935-6CE8-4B42-B4EC-2BA47CE13AA5}
Discovered: Sep 16, 2026
Cause: Undetermined
Est. Cost to Date: $17,924,942
Coordinates: 39.3944, -120.0252
Other wildfires no longer present in our filtered incident feed in CA.
The FLORISTON Fire has burned 622 acres as of September 25, 2026.
Yes, the FLORISTON Fire is fully contained (100%).
The official cause has been listed as: Undetermined.
The FLORISTON Fire is burning in Nevada, CA.
The FLORISTON Fire currently meets our U.S. incident tracking criteria. This does not confirm current fire behavior.
Real-time map, acreage, and containment for every major U.S. wildfire, updated from official NIFC data.
View Live Map →