Feed checks and source-record updates do not necessarily mean fire conditions changed. Figures below reflect the last recorded incident report.
Automated summary generated: Nov 3, 2026 20:25 UTC. It may lag behind the report and is not an official alert.
The Slough Canyon wildfire, located 41 miles east of Price in Grand County, Utah, was discovered on August 15, 2026 and is caused by natural factors under the jurisdiction of the BIA. The fire expanded rapidly from 128 acres on August 19 to 4,774 acres by August 31, with containment reaching 34% by that date. Over the following weeks containment improved steadily, reaching 75% by September 18, 80% by September 27, and 95% by October 20, before finally achieving 100% containment on November 3. Throughout the timeline the fire behavior shifted from active uphill runs and group torching to minimal smoldering and creeping as containment progressed. The estimated cost rose from $850,000 in late August to $1,721,000 by the time the fire was fully contained.
Official source description: 41 Miles E from Price, UT
Minimal; Smoldering
Historical observations from incident reports, not a live forecast. Acreage and containment can decrease when agencies correct their estimates.
39
128 acres
4,774 acres
Latest available source report: Nov 3, 2026 20:11 UTC. This is the report date, not confirmation of current fire conditions.
Reported acreage increased by 4,646 acres between the first and last available acreage measurements. Recorded containment rose by 100.0 percentage points, from 0.0% (Aug 21, 2026) to 100.0% (Nov 3, 2026), using the first and last reports with a known containment value.
| Report date (UTC) | Acres | Containment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 19, 2026 17:20 | 128 | Not reported | NIFC |
| Aug 21, 2026 00:20 | 350 | 0.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 21, 2026 18:40 | 578 | 0.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 22, 2026 23:00 | 3,000 | 0.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 26, 2026 00:20 | 4,200 | 0.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 28, 2026 00:00 | 4,500 | 10.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 30, 2026 23:40 | 4,698 | 34.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 3, 2026 23:20 | 4,774 | 35.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 9, 2026 23:20 | 4,774 | 65.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 14, 2026 23:20 | 4,774 | 70.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 27, 2026 23:00 | 4,774 | 80.0% | NIFC |
| Nov 3, 2026 20:11 | 4,774 | 100.0% | NIFC |
Showing 12 representative changes from 24 distinct recorded measurements, including the first and last distinct measurements. The latest source report date is shown above, even when measurements have not changed.
| Report date (UTC) | Acres | Containment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 19, 2026 17:20 | 128 | Not reported | NIFC |
| Aug 21, 2026 00:00 | 350 | Not reported | NIFC |
| Aug 21, 2026 00:20 | 350 | 0.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 21, 2026 00:40 | 536 | 0.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 21, 2026 18:40 | 578 | 0.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 21, 2026 23:40 | 578 | 0.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 22, 2026 00:00 | 770 | 0.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 22, 2026 23:00 | 3,000 | 0.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 23, 2026 22:40 | 3,000 | 0.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 25, 2026 00:00 | 2,898 | 0.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 26, 2026 00:20 | 4,200 | 0.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 26, 2026 23:40 | 4,500 | 0.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 28, 2026 00:00 | 4,500 | 10.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 28, 2026 23:00 | 4,668 | 25.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 29, 2026 23:40 | 4,698 | 36.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 30, 2026 23:40 | 4,698 | 34.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 31, 2026 00:00 | 4,774 | 34.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 31, 2026 23:20 | 4,774 | 34.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 1, 2026 22:40 | 4,774 | 34.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 3, 2026 23:20 | 4,774 | 35.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 4, 2026 23:00 | 4,774 | 63.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 6, 2026 00:00 | 4,774 | 63.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 7, 2026 15:40 | 4,774 | 63.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 7, 2026 23:20 | 4,774 | 63.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 9, 2026 23:20 | 4,774 | 65.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 10, 2026 23:40 | 4,774 | 65.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 12, 2026 00:00 | 4,774 | 66.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 13, 2026 01:00 | 4,774 | 66.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 14, 2026 23:20 | 4,774 | 70.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 15, 2026 23:20 | 4,774 | 75.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 16, 2026 23:40 | 4,774 | 75.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 18, 2026 22:00 | 4,774 | 75.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 27, 2026 23:00 | 4,774 | 80.0% | NIFC |
| Oct 8, 2026 22:22 | 4,774 | 80.0% | NIFC |
| Oct 14, 2026 22:13 | 4,774 | 80.0% | NIFC |
| Oct 16, 2026 22:01 | 4,774 | 80.0% | NIFC |
| Oct 20, 2026 22:05 | 4,774 | 95.0% | NIFC |
| Oct 22, 2026 21:50 | 4,774 | 95.0% | NIFC |
| Nov 3, 2026 20:11 | 4,774 | 100.0% | NIFC |
Good air quality at the reporting station. AQI does not assess fire danger, road access or evacuation status.
Reporting area: Not reported. Source: AirNow.gov (EPA).
Observed: 2026-11-08 01:00:00 UTC Β· Site: P2.
Any automated community or travel summary below may be outdated. It is not a live evacuation or road-closure notice.
Verify evacuation orders, closures and access with the responsible fire agency, county emergency management or sheriff. A containment percentage, feed status or AQI reading does not establish that an area is safe to enter.
NIFC fire information and official resources βIRWIN ID: {019119DA-16C0-40AE-ADFE-25AD80EA704E}
Discovered: Aug 15, 2026
Cause: Natural
Managing Agency: BIA
Est. Cost to Date: $1,721,000
Coordinates: 39.3697, -109.9232
Other wildfires no longer present in our filtered incident feed in UT.
The Slough Canyon Fire has burned 4,774 acres as of November 3, 2026.
Yes, the Slough Canyon Fire is fully contained (100%).
The official cause has been listed as: Natural.
The Slough Canyon Fire is burning in Grand, UT.
The Slough Canyon Fire currently meets our U.S. incident tracking criteria. This does not confirm current fire behavior.
Real-time map, acreage, and containment for every major U.S. wildfire, updated from official NIFC data.
View Live Map →