Loading stories...
← Back to Dashboard
Tracked IncidentWA

Electric Fire

Feed checked
Nov 8, 2026 02:20 UTC
Source record updated
Oct 27, 2026 20:27 UTC
Last recorded incident change
Oct 10, 2026 01:21 UTC

Feed checks and source-record updates do not necessarily mean fire conditions changed. Figures below reflect the last recorded incident report.

The last recorded incident change is more than 14 days old or undated. Historical fire behavior and summaries below are not confirmation of current conditions.

495
Acres
100%
Contained
4
Personnel

Situation Summary

Automated summary generated: Oct 27, 2026 20:45 UTC. It may lag behind the report and is not an official alert.

The Electric wildfire, located 7 miles north of Marblemount in Whatcom County, Washington, was discovered on August 23, 2026. By September 1 it had expanded to 622 acres and was 17% contained, with 80 personnel on the scene and moderate fire behavior. The fire later decreased to 494 acres by September 11, while containment rose to 36% and personnel peaked at 95. Over the following weeks containment steadily improved, reaching 90% by September 16 and 100% by October 10, with the final acreage reported at 495 acres and a total estimated cost of $3,003,630. The incident is managed by the U.S. Forest Service and was caused by natural factors.

Official source description: 7 Miles N from Marblemount, WA

Fire Behavior in Last Recorded Report

Minimal; Creeping; Backing; Smoldering

Recorded Fire Progression

Historical observations from incident reports, not a live forecast. Acreage and containment can decrease when agencies correct their estimates.

Available reports

21

First recorded acreage

15 acres

Last recorded acreage

495 acres

Latest available source report: Oct 10, 2026 01:21 UTC. This is the report date, not confirmation of current fire conditions.

Reported acreage increased by 480 acres between the first and last available acreage measurements. Recorded containment rose by 100.0 percentage points, from 0.0% (Aug 27, 2026) to 100.0% (Oct 10, 2026), using the first and last reports with a known containment value.

Reported changes over time

Report date (UTC)AcresContainmentSource
Aug 25, 2026 21:2015Not reportedNIFC
Aug 26, 2026 15:40100Not reportedNIFC
Aug 28, 2026 16:401000.0%NIFC
Aug 29, 2026 01:005000.0%NIFC
Sep 1, 2026 23:2062217.0%NIFC
Sep 8, 2026 23:2062233.0%NIFC
Sep 10, 2026 01:4062238.0%NIFC
Sep 12, 2026 01:0049444.0%NIFC
Sep 13, 2026 00:0049546.0%NIFC
Sep 14, 2026 22:0049549.0%NIFC
Sep 16, 2026 00:4049590.0%NIFC
Oct 10, 2026 01:21495100.0%NIFC

Showing 12 representative changes from 16 distinct recorded measurements, including the first and last distinct measurements. The latest source report date is shown above, even when measurements have not changed.

View all 21 source reports
Report date (UTC)AcresContainmentSource
Aug 25, 2026 21:2015Not reportedNIFC
Aug 26, 2026 15:40100Not reportedNIFC
Aug 27, 2026 05:005000.0%NIFC
Aug 28, 2026 01:205000.0%NIFC
Aug 28, 2026 16:401000.0%NIFC
Aug 29, 2026 01:005000.0%NIFC
Aug 29, 2026 23:405000.0%NIFC
Sep 1, 2026 01:205000.0%NIFC
Sep 1, 2026 23:2062217.0%NIFC
Sep 4, 2026 23:2062224.0%NIFC
Sep 5, 2026 23:0062224.0%NIFC
Sep 8, 2026 23:2062233.0%NIFC
Sep 10, 2026 01:4062238.0%NIFC
Sep 11, 2026 01:0049436.0%NIFC
Sep 12, 2026 01:0049444.0%NIFC
Sep 13, 2026 00:0049546.0%NIFC
Sep 14, 2026 22:0049549.0%NIFC
Sep 14, 2026 23:0049571.0%NIFC
Sep 16, 2026 00:4049590.0%NIFC
Sep 17, 2026 01:0049590.0%NIFC
Oct 10, 2026 01:21495100.0%NIFC

Location

Regional Air Quality

27
Good
AQI · PM2.5

Good air quality at the reporting station. AQI does not assess fire danger, road access or evacuation status.

Reporting area: Not reported. Source: AirNow.gov (EPA).

Observed: 2026-11-08 01:00:00 UTC Β· Site: Darrington-Fir St.

Public Safety & Travel

Any automated community or travel summary below may be outdated. It is not a live evacuation or road-closure notice.

Check Official Alerts

Verify evacuation orders, closures and access with the responsible fire agency, county emergency management or sheriff. A containment percentage, feed status or AQI reading does not establish that an area is safe to enter.

NIFC fire information and official resources β†’

IRWIN ID: {9E33D836-7B10-46EA-9F26-9966F6392D81}

Discovered: Aug 23, 2026

Cause: Natural

Managing Agency: USFS

Est. Cost to Date: $3,003,630

Coordinates: 48.6524, -121.4353

Frequently Asked Questions

How many acres has the Electric Fire burned?

The Electric Fire has burned 495 acres as of October 10, 2026.

Is the Electric Fire contained?

Yes, the Electric Fire is fully contained (100%).

What caused the Electric Fire?

The official cause has been listed as: Natural.

Where is the Electric Fire located?

The Electric Fire is burning in Whatcom, WA.

Is the Electric Fire still active?

The Electric Fire currently meets our U.S. incident tracking criteria. This does not confirm current fire behavior.

πŸ”₯ Live Tracker

Watch Active Wildfires β€” Live

Real-time map, acreage, and containment for every major U.S. wildfire, updated from official NIFC data.

View Live Map →