Feed checks and source-record updates do not necessarily mean fire conditions changed. Figures below reflect the last recorded incident report.
Automated summary generated: Nov 6, 2026 23:45 UTC. It may lag behind the report and is not an official alert.
The McCully wildfire was first discovered on 2026-08-22 and reported by the NIFC at 23:00:05 that same day with an initial size of 30 acres. By 2026-09-03 the fire had expanded to 13,479 acres, 6% contained, and 1,005 personnel were assigned. Rapid containment gains followed, reaching 61% by 2026-09-11 and 91% by 2026-09-15, with the acreage stabilizing at 13,604 acres thereafter. The last NIFC report on 2026-10-30 noted 91% containment and a single personnel on the scene.
Official source description: 22 Miles NW from Baker City, OR
Minimal; Smoldering
Historical observations from incident reports, not a live forecast. Acreage and containment can decrease when agencies correct their estimates.
31
30 acres
13,604 acres
Latest available source report: Oct 30, 2026 22:43 UTC. This is the report date, not confirmation of current fire conditions.
Reported acreage increased by 13,574 acres between the first and last available acreage measurements. Recorded containment rose by 91.0 percentage points, from 0.0% (Aug 23, 2026) to 91.0% (Oct 30, 2026), using the first and last reports with a known containment value.
| Report date (UTC) | Acres | Containment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 22, 2026 23:00 | 30 | Not reported | NIFC |
| Aug 23, 2026 05:40 | 400 | Not reported | NIFC |
| Aug 24, 2026 01:20 | 1,202 | 0.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 27, 2026 01:40 | 5,971 | 0.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 30, 2026 04:20 | 9,484 | 0.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 1, 2026 02:00 | 11,231 | 4.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 4, 2026 02:40 | 13,479 | 8.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 6, 2026 04:40 | 13,564 | 25.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 9, 2026 02:00 | 13,545 | 59.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 11, 2026 01:00 | 13,561 | 61.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 14, 2026 01:00 | 13,604 | 81.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 15, 2026 23:20 | 13,604 | 91.0% | NIFC |
Showing 12 representative changes from 28 distinct recorded measurements, including the first and last distinct measurements. The latest source report date is shown above, even when measurements have not changed.
| Report date (UTC) | Acres | Containment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 22, 2026 23:00 | 30 | Not reported | NIFC |
| Aug 23, 2026 03:00 | 200 | Not reported | NIFC |
| Aug 23, 2026 05:40 | 400 | Not reported | NIFC |
| Aug 23, 2026 20:00 | 200 | 0.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 24, 2026 00:40 | 400 | 0.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 24, 2026 01:20 | 1,202 | 0.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 25, 2026 01:00 | 4,315 | 0.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 26, 2026 04:40 | 4,315 | 0.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 27, 2026 01:40 | 5,971 | 0.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 28, 2026 03:20 | 8,305 | 0.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 29, 2026 04:00 | 8,872 | 0.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 30, 2026 04:20 | 9,484 | 0.0% | NIFC |
| Aug 31, 2026 01:40 | 9,934 | 2.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 1, 2026 02:00 | 11,231 | 4.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 2, 2026 03:40 | 13,150 | 4.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 3, 2026 04:00 | 13,479 | 6.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 4, 2026 02:40 | 13,479 | 8.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 5, 2026 03:00 | 13,501 | 25.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 6, 2026 04:40 | 13,564 | 25.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 7, 2026 02:40 | 13,565 | 46.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 7, 2026 22:40 | 13,533 | 59.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 9, 2026 02:00 | 13,545 | 59.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 10, 2026 02:00 | 13,560 | 59.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 11, 2026 01:00 | 13,561 | 61.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 12, 2026 01:20 | 13,598 | 65.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 13, 2026 01:00 | 13,604 | 71.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 14, 2026 01:00 | 13,604 | 81.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 15, 2026 00:40 | 13,604 | 87.0% | NIFC |
| Sep 15, 2026 23:20 | 13,604 | 91.0% | NIFC |
| Oct 7, 2026 22:40 | 13,604 | 91.0% | NIFC |
| Oct 30, 2026 22:43 | 13,604 | 91.0% | NIFC |
Good air quality at the reporting station. AQI does not assess fire danger, road access or evacuation status.
Reporting area: Not reported. Source: AirNow.gov (EPA).
Observed: 2026-11-08 01:00:00 UTC Β· Site: Baker City - Forest Service.
Any automated community or travel summary below may be outdated. It is not a live evacuation or road-closure notice.
Verify evacuation orders, closures and access with the responsible fire agency, county emergency management or sheriff. A containment percentage, feed status or AQI reading does not establish that an area is safe to enter.
NIFC fire information and official resources βIRWIN ID: {55C74279-0C6B-4CF7-BF16-731E6A8FB5F9}
Discovered: Aug 22, 2026
Cause: Natural
Managing Agency: USFS
Est. Cost to Date: $34,543,000
Coordinates: 44.8279, -118.2808
Other wildfires no longer present in our filtered incident feed in OR.
The McCully Fire has burned 13,604 acres as of October 30, 2026.
As of the latest update, the McCully Fire is 91% contained.
The official cause has been listed as: Natural.
The McCully Fire is burning in Baker, OR.
The McCully Fire currently meets our U.S. incident tracking criteria. This does not confirm current fire behavior.
Real-time map, acreage, and containment for every major U.S. wildfire, updated from official NIFC data.
View Live Map →